Skip to main content


The MENA faculty is comprised of 20 core faculty, 8 affiliated faculty, and visiting scholars, postdoctoral fellows, and writers-in-residence. They are drawn from the disciplines of anthropology, art history, comparative literature, history, political science, religion, film and media studies, and others.  

MENA’s faculty are scholars who study and write about this region from a variety of perspectives, with a particular focus on the 19th, 20th and 21st centuries. They have won numerous major grants for the research including from the  American Council of Learned Societies, Carnegie Corporation of NY, Fulbright, Fulbright-Hayes, Guggenheim, Andrew Mellon Foundation, Social Science Research Council, and others.  Their scholarship has won some of the most prestigious prizes in the field including the Albert Hourani Book Award, the Houshang Pourshariati Iranian Studies Book Award, and the Carnegie Scholars Islam Initiative Award. 

As teachers, our faculty have won honors and awards including the University Teaching Award, the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences Distinguished Teaching Award, the Weinberg College Outstanding Freshman Advising Award, and several being named to the Associated Student Government (ASG) Honor Roll. MENA’s faculty are scholars who love to teach at all levels, and teachers who base their classroom work on new and ground breaking research.